6 Best Rechargeable Book Lights, USB and USB C (2026)
Six rechargeable book lights compared on battery size, charging time and runtime, including multi pack options, so you spend less time hunting for batteries.







At a Glance

Gritin Rechargeable Book Light with 5 Level Dimming and USB C
โ See why we picked itA rechargeable book light removes the small, constant chore of buying button cells, but the battery figures on the box do not all mean the same thing. This guide compares six USB rechargeable lights by battery capacity, charge time and the runtime each maker states. The Gritin Gen 2 carries a 1500 mAh battery for up to 110 hours on low, the Glocusent 12 LED has 800 mAh for up to 200 hours on its lowest setting, and the KTEBO lists up to 30 hours on its warmest low setting after about 2 hours of charging.
We evaluated each pick based on product specs and buyer feedback, including battery capacity, how the runtime changes with brightness, what port it charges through, and whether it is sold in a multi pack. Two picks are bulk packs, the VZZNN in a 12 pack and the KunHe in a 5 pack, which suits gifting or keeping a light in every room, while the KTEBO comes as a pair. The Gritin 500 mAh model lists 10 to 80 hours depending on mode, a wide spread that shows how much brightness drives runtime.
Runtime numbers are almost always quoted on the lowest setting, so the useful question is how long a light lasts at the brightness you really use. A larger mAh figure helps, but so does an easy charging port and a power indicator. We rank the picks on battery depth and charging convenience first, then on light quality.
6 Criteria to Look For Before Buying a Rechargeable Book Lights, USB and USB C (2026)
Key buying criteria so you get the right fit the first time.
Battery capacity versus real runtime
Capacity in mAh sets the ceiling, but the runtime figure depends on brightness. The Gritin Gen 2 lists 1500 mAh with up to 110 hours on low, the Glocusent 12 LED 800 mAh with up to 200 hours at its 3 lumen minimum, and the Gritin 500 mAh model 10 to 80 hours. Always ask at what brightness a runtime applies. Expect much less at the top setting.
Charging port and time
A reversible USB C port is easier to plug in at night. The Glocusent 12 LED, KTEBO and Gritin lights use USB C, and the KTEBO states about 2 hours for a full charge. Charge time is not published for several picks. Match the cable to what you already own.
Power indicator
A light that dies mid page is annoying. The Gritin Gen 2 has a power indicator, and the others do not. If you read nightly, an indicator tells you when to charge. Without one, charge on a fixed day each week.
Multi pack value
Multi packs spread the cost across several lights. The VZZNN gives 12 lights, the KunHe 5 and the KTEBO 2. A pack suits a household with lights in several rooms, but the individual lights may be simpler. Check the per light specs, not just the count.
Brightness and glare
Close page reading needs roughly 15 to 50 lumens, and high output causes glare. The VZZNN peaks at 25 lumens, and the Glocusent 12 LED goes from 3 to 60 lumens. Choose a light with a low setting, since that is where battery life is best.
Clip design
A clip that holds well matters as much as the battery. The KTEBO's padded clip opens wide for books, Kindles, music stands and collars, and the VZZNN's neck bends 350 degrees. A clip that flops over when you turn a page is a daily annoyance.
6 Best Rechargeable Book Lights, USB and USB C (2026)
Glocusent 12 LED Rechargeable Clip On Book Light

About this pick
The Glocusent 12 LED has the longest stated runtime in this guide, up to 200 hours on the lowest setting from an 800 mAh battery. That figure is possible because its lowest level is only 3 lumens, so it is mostly a bedtime number. The USB C port is reversible and easy to find in the dark, and the five brightness levels run up to 60 lumens. The tradeoff is that the 200 hours is at the dimmest setting, and runtime falls steeply at 60 lumens. The listing does not publish a charge time in the information given, so it is not clear how long a full charge takes. Five colors and five levels also mean more settings to learn. In use, a charge lasts for weeks of bedtime reading, and the extended head lights a page evenly. Compared with the Gritin Gen 2 it offers a longer headline runtime from a smaller battery, and against the KTEBO it gives a wider color range and finer brightness control.
Best for: Readers who want the longest stated runtime and USB C charging.
Check price on AmazonSpecs
- Charging: USB C
- Brightness: 5 levels from 3 to 60 lumens
- Color: 5 temperatures from 1800K to 6000K
Pros
- +Up to 200 hours on the lowest setting
- +Five colors from 1800K to 6000K
- +Extended head lights the page evenly
Cons
- โRuntime figure applies only to the dimmest level
- โCharge time is not stated in the listing
Gritin 2026 Gen 2 Book Light with 30 Full Spectrum LEDs

About this pick
The Gritin Gen 2 has the largest battery in the guide at 1500 mAh, with a runtime of up to 110 hours on the lowest setting. A power indicator shows how much charge is left, which solves the problem of a light dying mid chapter. It has 30 full spectrum LEDs, five colors, five brightness levels and stepless dimming from 10 to 100 percent. The larger battery makes the body bulkier than small clips, and 110 hours is the lowest setting figure, so at high brightness it will not last anywhere near that long. The listing does not state a charge time in the text we have. The indicator is the standout for rechargeable use. Compared with the Glocusent 12 LED it has nearly double the battery but a shorter stated runtime, because the Glocusent's lowest setting is much dimmer. Against the Gritin 500 mAh model it has three times the capacity and an indicator.
Best for: Readers who want a big battery and a visible charge level.
Check price on AmazonSpecs
- Battery: 1500 mAh, up to 110 hours on low
- Indicator: Power level display
- Dimming: Stepless 10 to 100 percent, 5 levels
- LEDs: 30 full spectrum, 2 lighting modes
Pros
- +1500 mAh battery is the largest here
- +Power indicator avoids surprise dead batteries
- +Stepless dimming from 10 to 100 percent
- +Five color temperatures
Cons
- โBulkier than small clips
- โCharge time is not stated in the listing
KTEBO 2 Pack Rechargeable Book Light with 9 Modes

About this pick
The KTEBO is the pick with the clearest charging story. The listing states a full charge takes about 2 hours and gives up to 30 hours on the lowest warm setting, which are easy figures to plan around. It offers nine modes, three colors times three brightness levels, and is sold as a two pack, so you can keep one by the bed and one in a chair. Thirty hours is less than the 110 and 200 hour claims on the larger lights, though it is a more modest and clearly stated number. Nine modes are fewer choices than the five by five of the Glocusent, which is simpler but less fine tuned. The listing does not publish a battery capacity. The padded clip opens wide enough for a book, a Kindle, a music stand or a shirt collar, which broadens its use. Compared with the Gritin 500 mAh model it has less runtime on paper but a two pack, and against the VZZNN it has a stronger battery story with fewer units.
Best for: Buyers who want plain charge numbers and a pair of lights.
Check price on AmazonSpecs
- Modes: 9 modes: 3 colors by 3 brightness levels
- Charge: USB C, full charge in about 2 hours
- Runtime: Up to 30 hours on lowest warm setting
- Pack: 2 lights with padded clips
Pros
- +Full charge in about 2 hours
- +Up to 30 hours on the lowest warm setting
- +Two pack covers two rooms
- +Padded clip fits books, Kindles and music stands
Cons
- โRuntime is lower than the larger battery lights
- โBattery capacity is not published
Gritin Rechargeable Book Light with 5 Level Dimming and USB C

About this pick
This Gritin shows how much brightness drives runtime, with a stated range of 10 to 80 hours from a 500 mAh battery. At its brightest it lasts about 10 hours, and at its dimmest about 80, so your real runtime depends entirely on your setting. It has three color temperatures starting at amber 1800K, five brightness levels with stepless dimming, and USB C charging. A 500 mAh battery is a third of the Gritin Gen 2, so you charge more often if you read at high brightness. There is no power indicator, so you will not know it is nearly empty until it dims. Charging by USB C is quick and the light is small enough to leave on a nightstand. Compared with the Gritin Gen 2 it is smaller with less battery and no indicator, and against the KunHe it offers more precise brightness control and a warmer amber. It is a good way to see how brightness choices affect real world battery life.
Best for: Readers who want a small light and are happy to charge it regularly.
Check price on AmazonSpecs
- Battery: 500 mAh, 10 to 80 hours
- Charging: USB C
- Color: Amber 1800K, mixed and white
Pros
- +10 to 80 hours range is clearly stated
- +1800K amber for late reading
- +Stepless dimming with five levels
- +USB C charging
Cons
- โSmaller battery needs more frequent charging
- โNo power indicator
VZZNN 12 Pack Rechargeable Book Lights

About this pick
The VZZNN comes as a 12 pack, which suits a household that wants a light in every room, a reading group, or a stack of gifts. Each light offers three color temperatures, warm 3000K, natural 4300K and cool 8000K, and three brightness levels between 30 and 100 percent at 25 lumens. The neck rotates 90 degrees left and 180 right and bends 350 degrees, so it aims in almost any direction. The tradeoff is quality over quantity. The brightest setting is 25 lumens, which is dimmer than the 60 lumen top of the Glocusent, and the warmest option is 3000K, so it is not a true amber. The listing gives no battery capacity or runtime in what we have, so the charging story is thinner than on the other picks. Upgraded press buttons make little noise, which helps if someone else is sleeping. Compared with the KunHe it has a wider color range and a more flexible neck, and against the Glocusent it has less warmth and runtime in exchange for a dozen lights.
Best for: Households or gift givers who want many lights at once.
Check price on AmazonSpecs
- Pack: 12 lights
- Color: 3000K warm, 4300K natural, 8000K cool
Pros
- +12 lights cover every room or gift list
- +Neck bends 350 degrees for easy aiming
- +Quiet press buttons
- +Three color temperatures
Cons
- โBattery capacity and runtime are not stated
- โWarmest setting is 3000K
KunHe 5 Pack Rechargeable Clip On Book Lights

About this pick
The KunHe is the most basic option here, sold in a pack of five. Each light offers three modes, warm, cool and natural, and three brightness levels, and the listing states up to 8 hours of continuous use on one charge. Charging is by a standard USB cable. Eight hours is the shortest stated runtime in the guide and the figure does not say at what brightness it applies. There is no listed battery capacity, no power indicator and no fine dimming. It is a functional light for occasional reading, not a long haul one. It makes sense as a stock of spare lights for a household. Compared with the VZZNN it has fewer color and brightness details, and against the KTEBO it has a shorter and less clearly specified battery story.
Best for: Households that want several simple lights for occasional reading.
Check price on AmazonSpecs
- Pack: 5 lights
- Runtime: Up to 8 hours continuous
- Charging: Standard USB cable
Pros
- +Five pack covers several rooms
- +Three modes and three brightness levels
- +Standard USB cable charging
- +Simple to use
Cons
- โUp to 8 hours is the shortest runtime here
- โNo capacity, indicator or fine dimming
How We Evaluated These Rechargeable Book Lights, USB and USB C (2026)
Each pick was assessed across 5 criteria weighted for real-world use.
Battery depth
The Gritin Gen 2 at 1500 mAh leads on capacity and the Glocusent at 200 hours on runtime, while the KunHe at 8 hours is the most basic. We noted that runtimes depend on brightness.
Charging convenience
We looked at port type, charge time and indicators. The KTEBO states about 2 hours, and the Gritin Gen 2 has an indicator. We marked down listings with no charge detail.
Light quality
We read color range and brightness control. The Glocusent's 1800K to 6000K and the Gritin Gen 2's stepless dimming scored best. We valued a warm setting.
Pack value
The VZZNN's 12 pack and KunHe's 5 pack suit households, but we counted per light features.
Clip and aim
We considered clip padding, neck flexibility and weight. The KTEBO's wide clip and the VZZNN's bendable neck scored well. We looked at how each stays on a page.
How to Choose the Right Rechargeable Book Lights, USB and USB C (2026)
By Charging Habit
How often you want to charge decides the battery you need.
| Habit | Pick | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Charge rarely | Glocusent 12 LED Rechargeable Clip On Book Light | Up to 200 hours on lowest |
| Want a fuel gauge | Gritin 2026 Gen 2 Book Light with 30 Full Spectrum LEDs | 1500 mAh with power indicator |
| Want clear charge numbers | KTEBO 2 Pack Rechargeable Book Light with 9 Modes | 2 hours to full, up to 30 hours |
| Charge weekly | Gritin Rechargeable Book Light with 5 Level Dimming and USB C | 500 mAh, 10 to 80 hours |
| Spare lights in every room | VZZNN 12 Pack Rechargeable Book Lights | 12 lights in one purchase |
Charge on a fixed day to avoid a dead light.
By Budget
| Tier | Pick | What you get |
|---|---|---|
| Basic stock | KunHe 5 Pack Rechargeable Clip On Book Lights | Five simple lights |
| Bulk | VZZNN 12 Pack Rechargeable Book Lights | Twelve lights with color options |
| Pair | KTEBO 2 Pack Rechargeable Book Light with 9 Modes | Two lights with stated charge time |
| Mid-range single | Gritin Rechargeable Book Light with 5 Level Dimming and USB C | A smaller battery with warm amber |
| Best single light | Glocusent 12 LED Rechargeable Clip On Book Light | Longest runtime and USB C |
Pay for battery and low brightness before pack size.
Single Light vs Multi Pack
The tradeoff is light quality against quantity.
Single light
A single light usually has better specs. The Glocusent 12 LED, Gritin Gen 2 and Gritin 500 mAh model are singles. You buy one at a time. Choose a single if you read nightly.
Multi pack
A pack gives lights for each room or as gifts. The VZZNN, KunHe and KTEBO are packs. Each light is simpler. Choose a pack for occasional reading in many places.
Read nightly with a single, stock the house with a pack.
By Port and Charging
Charging ease is a daily detail.
| Preference | Pick | Reason |
|---|---|---|
| USB C and long runtime | Glocusent 12 LED Rechargeable Clip On Book Light | USB C and up to 200 hours |
| Power indicator | Gritin 2026 Gen 2 Book Light with 30 Full Spectrum LEDs | Shows charge level |
| Stated 2 hour charge | KTEBO 2 Pack Rechargeable Book Light with 9 Modes | Full charge in about 2 hours |
| Standard USB cable | KunHe 5 Pack Rechargeable Clip On Book Lights | USB cable charging |
| USB C and amber | Gritin Rechargeable Book Light with 5 Level Dimming and USB C | 1800K amber and USB C |
Check the cable you own before buying.
For Nightly Readers Specifically
Nightly readers want a low setting and few chargings.
Look for
A large battery, a very low brightness and a warm color. Runtime at low brightness is what matters.
In this comparison
The Glocusent 12 LED runs up to 200 hours at 3 lumens, and the Gritin Gen 2 has 1500 mAh with an indicator.
Charge weekly even if the light is not dead.
When to Spend More
A better battery helps in some cases.
Spend more if
You read every night and hate charging, which points to the Glocusent 12 LED or Gritin Gen 2.
Save if
You read occasionally and want spares, where the KunHe or VZZNN packs are enough.
Battery size matters most for nightly readers.
Frequently Asked Questions
How do I choose between a big battery and a multi pack?
Pick a big battery like the Gritin Gen 2 if you read nightly. Pick a pack like the VZZNN for spare lights and gifts. Packs have simpler lights.
What does a rechargeable book light cost?
Prices vary, and a larger battery and low brightness matter more than the price. Multi packs cost less per light.
How long does a charge last?
It depends on brightness. The Glocusent 12 LED lists up to 200 hours on lowest, the Gritin Gen 2 up to 110, and the KunHe up to 8 hours.
Is USB C better than USB?
USB C is reversible and easier to plug in at night. A standard USB cable works too if you have the cable.
How do I make the battery last?
Use the lowest comfortable brightness, switch the light off when finished, and recharge before it is empty. Avoid leaving it in a hot place.
Are multi packs good quality?
Packs are fine for occasional use but each light has fewer details. The VZZNN publishes color and brightness, but not runtime.
Can I charge a book light from a power bank?
Yes, since they charge by USB. A power bank or a laptop port works.
Bottom Line
best overall: Glocusent 12 LED Rechargeable Clip On Book Light - best overall pick in this roundup.
See the full rankings above for all picks with pros, cons, and best-for summaries.
Browse on Amazon
All Prime-eligible options with current pricing.
Shop on Amazon โ