Amazon affiliate links - we earn a commission.Affiliate disclosure
Buying Guideยท13 min read

6 Best Portable Wheelchair Ramps for 4 Steps in 2026

Six 4FT portable wheelchair ramps rated for 4 to 12 inch rises, compared on weight, capacity and folded size, with honest limits for a four-step entry.

Jamie Cole, Lead Product Researcher
6 options evaluated
Quick note: We may earn a commission when you buy through Amazon links. This guide is based on product specs, buyer feedback, use cases, and comparison criteria, not paid placement. Affiliate disclosure.
Best Portable Wheelchair Ramps for 4 Steps

At a Glance

Four steps is a tall climb for any portable ramp, and the honest starting point is arithmetic. Four risers of 6 inches each total 24 inches, and on a 48 inch ramp that is 1:2, far too steep to use. Every ramp in this guide is listed for 4 to 12 inches of rise, so it fits a four-step entry only when the combined height is at the bottom of that range or when the steps are unusually shallow.

We compared six 4FT folding ramps from their product pages: VNN, HYUNAN METHOD, FACHNUO, gardhom, Support Way and WHALEMOTOR. They share a similar footprint of 48 by about 29 inches when open, and they differ in weight, capacity wording, surface treatment and how clearly the maker documents them. Think of this guide as a way to check what the 4FT class can and cannot do.

If your measured rise is above roughly 8 inches, a longer ramp is the better path, and for four full steps a portable ramp is rarely appropriate at all. These notes come from listings, not hands-on use. A therapist, supplier or contractor can advise on slope and on whether a fixed solution is more suitable than a temporary one.

6 Criteria to Look For Before Buying a Portable Wheelchair Ramps for 4 Step

Key buying criteria so you get the right fit the first time.

Total rise across all four steps

Add every riser and the landing lip. Four steps of 3 inches each make 12 inches, the top of every 4FT listing here, while four steps of 6 inches make 24, which is double what these ramps cover. On 48 inches of run, 12 inches is 1:4 and 8 inches is 1:6. If your total is above roughly 8 inches, move to a longer ramp or a different solution.

Run length and slope comfort

The HYUNAN METHOD, VNN, FACHNUO, gardhom, Support Way and WHALEMOTOR all share 48 inches of run. That gives 1:12 at 4 inches, 1:8 at 6 inches and 1:4 at 12 inches. The Support Way listing says a longer ramp gives the safest, most gradual incline. Pick the lower half of the range for comfort.

Printed capacity and working load

The HYUNAN METHOD and Support Way state 800 lb, the gardhom states 800 lb with 600 lb recommended, and the VNN, FACHNUO and WHALEMOTOR lines we reviewed give none. The rating must cover the user, the chair and any cargo. A working load below the maximum, as gardhom spells out, is a useful extra margin.

Weight you must carry

Published weights run from 18.43 lb on the HYUNAN METHOD to 20.3 lb on the gardhom and around 26 lb on the Support Way. A 4FT ramp is long enough that two people often handle it. Lifting alone invites strain, so plan the route from storage to the steps ahead of time.

Folded size and storage

All of these fold to roughly 48 inches long, and widths near 14 to 14.5 inches. Depths of 3.2 inches on the HYUNAN and FACHNUO make them easy to slide behind furniture. Measure your storage space and car, since a 48 inch length does not fit every trunk.

Four steps may need a different answer

A portable ramp is a temporary aid. For four full steps, a built or modular ramp with landings, handrails and permits where required is often the right route, and none of these listings claim code compliance. A contractor or occupational therapist can advise before you spend money on a short ramp that will not reach.

6 Best Portable Wheelchair Ramps for 4 Steps in 2026

Best Documented 4FT

HYUNAN METHOD 4FT Wheelchair Ramp

HYUNAN METHOD 4FT Wheelchair Ramp
48 x 29 x 2.4 in openFolds to 48 x 14.5 x 3.2 in18.43 lb weight800 lb capacity

About this pick

The HYUNAN METHOD 4FT puts its numbers up front: 48 by 29 by 2.4 inches open, 48 by 14.5 by 3.2 inches folded, 18.43 lb, and an 800 lb capacity for rises of 4 to 12 inches. Guardrails and reflective strips are described, along with a prominent warning to go up a length rather than push the range. That warning is worth following. At the 12 inch ceiling, 48 inches of run gives 1:4, and across four steps the combined rise will often exceed it. Within a lower total of 4 to 8 inches the slope is far more comfortable, at 1:12 to 1:6. Its weight is moderate, and the rails add a little width. Compared with the gardhom 4FT at 20.3 lb and the Support Way at around 26 lb, it is the lightest here with a printed figure. It is the easiest to document for a therapist or supplier, and it suits low steps with a total rise under 8 inches.

Best for: Four very shallow steps or a short total rise where full documentation matters.

Check price on Amazon

Specs

  • Open size: 48 x 29 x 2.4 in
  • Folded size: 48 x 14.5 x 3.2 in
  • Weight: 18.43 lb
  • Capacity: 800 lb

Pros

  • +Lightest published weight in the 4FT group
  • +Open and folded sizes are fully listed
  • +Upfront advice to size up when unsure
  • +Rails and reflective strips are described

Cons

  • โˆ’12 inch ceiling is far below most four-step totals
  • โˆ’Rails add some width to work around
  • โˆ’Surface material is not described in the text
Plainest 4FT Panel

VNN 4FT Portable Wheelchair Ramp

VNN 4FT Portable Wheelchair Ramp
Listed for 4 to 12 in stepsFolds for carryingFolded aluminum surfaceLonger sizes in the family

About this pick

VNN rates its 4FT ramp for step heights of 4 to 12 inches and builds it from folded aluminum with a non-skid coating. It folds for carrying and belongs to a family that runs to longer lengths, which is handy when a four-step measurement turns out larger than expected. The listing keeps things simple. In the lines we reviewed there is no weight, no capacity and no mention of side guards, so those must be confirmed with the seller. The 12 inch limit is a steep 1:4, and the note asking buyers to check a size chart before ordering is the most important line on the page. Beside the HYUNAN METHOD 4FT with its printed 18.43 lb and 800 lb, the VNN is a plainer, less documented panel. It is a sensible starting point if you intend to buy from the same family and may move up to a 6FT or 8FT size once the real measurement is known.

Best for: Buyers who plan to confirm figures with the seller and may need to move up a size.

Check price on Amazon

Specs

  • Rise range: 4 to 12 in
  • Surface: Folded aluminum, non-skid layer
  • Weight: Not stated in the listing text
  • Capacity: Not stated in the listing text

Pros

  • +Folded aluminum surface with a second grip layer
  • +Rise window starts at 4 inches
  • +Longer lengths exist if your total is higher
  • +Folds down to a unit that can be hand-carried

Cons

  • โˆ’Capacity and weight are not in the text
  • โˆ’No side guards are named in the listing
  • โˆ’12 inch top of range is very steep
Best Visibility Detailing

FACHNUO 4FT Non-Skid Aluminum Ramp

FACHNUO 4FT Non-Skid Aluminum Ramp
48 x 29 x 2 in openFolds to 48 x 14 x 3.2 in4 to 12 in recommended riseBaffles and reflective strips

About this pick

FACHNUO opens this ramp to 48 by 29 by 2 inches and folds it to 48 by 14 by 3.2 inches. A recommended rise of 4 to 12 inches is stated, baffles and reflective strips run along both sides, and the pleated aluminum has a double non-slip layer intended to bite under wheels. The side detailing is the focus. Baffles are designed to keep wheels in the lane, and reflective strips help the ramp stand out at dusk or at night, which matters for an entry used after dark. The folded depth of 3.2 inches matches the HYUNAN, and no support legs are used at this length. The text we reviewed gives neither weight nor capacity, so ask before relying on it for a heavier setup. Compared with the gardhom, which prints weights and a recommended load, the FACHNUO leans on its edge detail. It suits an evening-use entry with a modest total rise.

Best for: Entries used after dark where side edges and reflective detail matter.

Check price on Amazon

Specs

  • Open size: 48 x 29 x 2 in
  • Folded size: 48 x 14 x 3.2 in
  • Rise range: 4 to 12 in recommended
  • Capacity: Not stated in the lines reviewed

Pros

  • +Baffles keep wheels inside the lane
  • +Reflective strips on both sides help in low light
  • +Pleated aluminum with a non-slip layer
  • +Thin 3.2 inch folded depth stores flat

Cons

  • โˆ’Weight and capacity are missing from the text
  • โˆ’Rise ceiling of 12 inches is steep at 4 feet
  • โˆ’No documentation of the surface coating
Clearest Load Guidance

gardhom 4FT Portable Wheelchair Ramp

gardhom 4FT Portable Wheelchair Ramp
800 lb max, 600 lb recommended48 x 29.2 in openFolds to 48 x 14.5 in20.3 lb weight

About this pick

gardhom is unusually candid about load: 800 lb maximum, with 600 lb recommended in daily use. The ramp opens to 48 by 29.2 inches, folds to 48 by 14.5 inches and weighs 20.3 lb. A top transition plate is meant to ease the step onto the threshold, and the deck has a black frosted anti-slip surface. A recommended working load beneath the maximum is the kind of margin a careful buyer wants to see. The weight sits about 2 lb above the HYUNAN METHOD, so it is still a manageable carry, and the plate helps at the doorway end. The listing also mentions use over thresholds, which suits a short rise. The text we reviewed gives no stated rise range, so check the maker's chart. Compared with the Support Way at around 26 lb and 800 lb, the gardhom is lighter and spells out a safer working figure. It suits a household that values conservative loading guidance.

Best for: Households that want a stated working load below the maximum.

Check price on Amazon

Specs

  • Load: 800 lb max, 600 lb recommended
  • Open size: 48 x 29.2 in
  • Folded size: 48 x 14.5 in
  • Weight: 20.3 lb

Pros

  • +Names a 600 lb working load within the 800 lb maximum
  • +Top transition plate eases the doorway edge
  • +Frosted anti-slip surface on the deck
  • +Open and folded sizes are published

Cons

  • โˆ’Rise range is not in the lines we reviewed
  • โˆ’20.3 lb is a firm two-hand lift
  • โˆ’Plate adds a step when aligning at the door
Sturdiest Feel on Paper

Support Way 4FT Portable Wheelchair Ramp

Support Way 4FT Portable Wheelchair Ramp
Designed for 4 to 12 in risesUp to 800 lbAerospace-grade aluminumAbout 26 lb weight

About this pick

Support Way describes a 4FT ramp for common 4 to 12 inch home rises, built from aerospace-grade aluminum to carry up to 800 lb. The maker puts the weight around 26 lb and admits it is substantial. The page also points out that a longer ramp gives the safest, most gradual incline, especially for higher steps. It is the heaviest of the 4FT group, which may suit a user who wants a solid feel and dislikes flex. It is also the hardest to carry and is poorly suited to repeated moving. The text we reviewed does not list folded dimensions. Beside the HYUNAN METHOD at 18.43 lb, it adds about 8 lb in exchange for the metal and the frank note about longer ramps. The same note is a good guide for a four-step entry: if the rise is near 12 inches, listen to it. It suits a fixed placement that rarely moves.

Best for: A fixed 4FT placement where a solid feel matters more than carrying ease.

Check price on Amazon

Specs

  • Rise range: 4 to 12 in
  • Capacity: Up to 800 lb
  • Weight: Around 26 lb
  • Material: Aerospace-grade aluminum

Pros

  • +Candid advice that a longer ramp is gentler
  • +Aerospace-grade aluminum is described
  • +Up to 800 lb stated by the maker
  • +Weight is stated, around 26 lb

Cons

  • โˆ’Heaviest of the 4FT group to carry
  • โˆ’Folded dimensions are not in the text
Simple Anti-Slip Scoring

WHALEMOTOR 4FT Aluminum Folding Ramp

WHALEMOTOR 4FT Aluminum Folding Ramp
Fits 4 to 12 in step heightsAnti-slip aluminumFolds for portabilityBuying guide in the listing

About this pick

WHALEMOTOR lists this 4FT ramp for step heights from 4 to 12 inches only, in an anti-slip aluminum folding build. The maker calls it easy to carry and points buyers to a size guide before ordering, with a note about a hump in the center portion that should be understood before purchase. That last comment is worth reading closely, because a center bump can catch small wheels. The text we reviewed gives no weight or capacity, and no folded dimensions. The strong point is that the maker states the range honestly and sells it in a family of sizes. Beside the VNN 4FT, which also lacks figures, the WHALEMOTOR adds the center-hump warning and the buying guide. Beside the gardhom, it is far less documented. It suits a buyer who will read the guide and confirm the numbers with the seller.

Best for: Buyers who will study the maker's size guide and confirm the figures.

Check price on Amazon

Specs

  • Rise range: 4 to 12 in
  • Surface: Anti-slip aluminum
  • Weight: Not stated in the lines reviewed
  • Capacity: Not stated in the lines reviewed

Pros

  • +States 4 to 12 inch heights only, with no overreach
  • +Anti-slip aluminum folding build
  • +Comes with a buying guide for sizing
  • +Sold in several lengths for resizing

Cons

  • โˆ’Weight and capacity are not in the lines reviewed
  • โˆ’Center hump is noted by the maker
  • โˆ’Folded dimensions are not in the text

How We Evaluated These Portable Wheelchair Ramps for 4 Steps

Each pick was assessed across 5 criteria weighted for real-world use.

Rise Realism

We checked each stated rise range against the arithmetic of 48 inches of run and the combined rise of a four-step entry. Every listing tops out at 12 inches, so we scored ramps by how clearly they warn against overreach, with Support Way and HYUNAN METHOD ahead.

Load Documentation

We looked at printed capacities and working-load guidance. The gardhom's 600 lb recommendation inside an 800 lb maximum was the clearest, followed by the HYUNAN METHOD and Support Way at 800 lb. VNN, FACHNUO and WHALEMOTOR gave nothing in the lines we reviewed.

Weight and Carry

We compared stated weights of 18.43 lb, 20.3 lb and around 26 lb, and noted that three listings print none. The lightest documented option, the HYUNAN METHOD, led the carry category.

Edges and Surface Detail

We read for baffles, guardrails, transition plates and reflective strips. The FACHNUO and HYUNAN METHOD emphasize side detail, the gardhom adds a top plate, and the WHALEMOTOR notes a center hump.

Sizing Guidance

We rewarded listings that help the buyer choose a size, such as the Support Way and HYUNAN METHOD notes about longer ramps, and the WHALEMOTOR buying guide. Clear sizing advice is a safety feature, not a bonus.

How to Choose the Right Portable Wheelchair Ramps for 4 Steps

By Total Rise

Match the total, not the step count.

Total risePickReason
4 to 6 inchesHYUNAN METHOD 4FT Wheelchair RampGentle 1:8 to 1:12 with full specs
6 to 8 inchesgardhom 4FT Portable Wheelchair RampWorking-load guidance and a top plate
8 to 10 inches, evening useFACHNUO 4FT Non-Skid Aluminum RampBaffles and reflective strips
About 10 to 12 inchesSupport Way 4FT Portable Wheelchair RampAdvises a longer ramp, so measure twice
Not yet measuredVNN 4FT Portable Wheelchair RampSame family offers longer sizes

By Budget

Relative tiers by what each listing provides.

TierPickWhat you get
EntryWHALEMOTOR 4FT Aluminum Folding RampPlain folding panel, figures to confirm
Entry to midVNN 4FT Portable Wheelchair RampFolded aluminum, family of sizes
MidFACHNUO 4FT Non-Skid Aluminum RampEdge detailing and a thin fold
Mid to premiumgardhom 4FT Portable Wheelchair RampWorking-load guidance and plate
PremiumHYUNAN METHOD 4FT Wheelchair RampFull specs, lightest documented weight

Light Panel vs Heavy Panel

Weight changes carrying, not slope.

Lighter panels

The HYUNAN METHOD at 18.43 lb and the gardhom at 20.3 lb are easier to move for visits or seasonal use. Choose them when the ramp comes out and goes away often.

Heavier panel

The Support Way at around 26 lb feels more substantial but is harder to carry. Choose it for a placement that rarely changes and a household that values stiffness.

By Lighting and Weather

ConditionPickReason
Dark entryFACHNUO 4FT Non-Skid Aluminum RampReflective strips on both sides
Doorway lipgardhom 4FT Portable Wheelchair RampTop transition plate
Wet stepsVNN 4FT Portable Wheelchair RampDouble non-skid aluminum
Rain-prone porchWHALEMOTOR 4FT Aluminum Folding RampAnti-slip scoring on aluminum
Mixed useHYUNAN METHOD 4FT Wheelchair RampRails and strips both described

For Multi-Step Entries Specifically

Look for

A rise range that covers the true total, a printed capacity, and a maker that advises sizing up. Check that the steps are in a straight line and that the landing at the top is large enough to turn.

In this comparison

The HYUNAN METHOD and Support Way both advise a longer ramp when unsure, the gardhom gives working-load guidance, and the FACHNUO adds edge visibility. For a true four-step climb, none replaces a longer or fixed ramp.

When to Spend More

Spend more ifSave if
You need paperwork, so the HYUNAN METHOD 4FT lists weight and 800 lbYou have seller confirmation for the VNN 4FT
A heavier user is involved, so the gardhom 4FT working-load guidance helpsA light manual chair is used with a helper
The total rise is over 8 inches, so a longer ramp is worth far more than any 4FT upgradeThe total rise is under 6 inches and any 4FT fits

If four steps total more than 12 inches, a 4FT ramp is out of range entirely.

Frequently Asked Questions

Can a 4FT ramp handle four steps?

Only if the four steps total 12 inches or less, which is unusual. Most steps are 6 to 7 inches each. Measure the total before buying.

What slope does a 4FT ramp give?

Forty-eight inches of run gives 1:12 at a 4 inch rise, 1:8 at 6 inches and 1:4 at 12 inches. A therapist can advise what the user can handle.

What is the difference between maximum and recommended load?

The maximum is the most the maker says the ramp holds, while a recommended load leaves margin for daily use. The gardhom lists 800 lb maximum and 600 lb recommended.

Should I buy a longer ramp instead?

If your total rise is above about 8 inches, yes. Longer ramps give gentler slopes. The VNN family and others offer 6FT and 8FT sizes.

What does a center hump mean?

The WHALEMOTOR listing mentions a hump in the center portion of the folded design. Read the maker's guide so you know what to expect when wheels cross the hinge.

Are these suitable for a power chair?

Check the chair's weight and incline limit against the ramp's rating. The HYUNAN METHOD, gardhom and Support Way print figures; the others require a question to the seller. Heavy power chairs often have their own manufacturer slope limits, and those limits can be lower than the ramp allows, so read the owner guide before the first use.

Is a portable ramp a safe long-term entrance?

These are temporary aids and none claim code compliance. For daily long-term use at a multi-step entry, ask a contractor or therapist about a permanent option.

Bottom Line

best overall: HYUNAN METHOD 4FT Wheelchair Ramp - best documented 4ft pick in this roundup.

See the full rankings above for all picks with pros, cons, and best-for summaries.

Browse on Amazon

All Prime-eligible options with current pricing.

Shop on Amazon โ†’

Related Guides