Amazon affiliate links - we earn a commission.Affiliate disclosure
Buying Guideยท10 min read

6 Best Motion Sensor Light Bulbs in 2026

Six screw-in motion sensor LED bulbs compared on lumens, sensing range, dusk-to-dawn control and where each works best, indoors or out, with no rewiring.

Jamie Cole, Lead Product Researcher
6 options evaluated
Quick note: We may earn a commission when you buy through Amazon links. This guide is based on product specs, buyer feedback, use cases, and comparison criteria, not paid placement. Affiliate disclosure.
Best Motion Sensor Light Bulbs

At a Glance

Torkase Motion Sensor Light Bulb, E26 Dusk to Dawn
Best Overall

Torkase Motion Sensor Light Bulb, E26 Dusk to Dawn

โ†“ See why we picked it
Check price
OHLUX 13W Motion Sensor LED Light Bulb
Best Auto Shut-Off

OHLUX 13W Motion Sensor LED Light Bulb

โ†“ See why we picked it
Check price
Aovpex Motion Sensor Light Bulb, 100W Equivalent
Best Plug-and-Play

Aovpex Motion Sensor Light Bulb, 100W Equivalent

โ†“ See why we picked it
Check price
GE LED+ Motion Sensor Bulbs, 12W A21, 2 Pack
Best Damp-Rated Pack

GE LED+ Motion Sensor Bulbs, 12W A21, 2 Pack

โ†“ See why we picked it
Check price
Sylvania A19 Dusk to Dawn Motion Sensor LED Bulb
Best Colour Quality

Sylvania A19 Dusk to Dawn Motion Sensor LED Bulb

โ†“ See why we picked it
Check price
GREENIC 9W A19 Motion Sensor Light Bulb
Best Detailed Specs

GREENIC 9W A19 Motion Sensor Light Bulb

โ†“ See why we picked it
Check price

A motion sensor bulb is the lowest-effort way to add automatic lighting. You unscrew an ordinary bulb, screw in a sensing one, and the porch, garage or hallway fixture now reacts to movement. There is no wiring, no new fixture and no tools beyond a ladder.

That convenience comes with a few catches. The sensor sits in the bulb, so its range is short, and the bulb must be mounted where it can actually see the area. Some models also ignore motion during the day, while others do not.

The six bulbs below are all screw-in E26 style lights from the listings we reviewed. We compared output, wattage equivalent, detection range and dusk-to-dawn behaviour, and we note where a listing leaves details out.

6 Criteria to Look For Before Buying a Motion Sensor Light Bulb

Key buying criteria so you get the right fit the first time.

Lumens and wattage equivalent

A 60W-equivalent bulb makes about 800 lumens, which suits halls, while a 100W equivalent is better for garages. The Torkase lists 1100 lumens, and the GREENIC and Sylvania list 800. Choose by the size of the space.

Detection range

Range decides how early the bulb reacts. Bulbs in a fixture sense a limited area. The GE A21 lists 24 feet, the Torkase lists 8 to 16 feet, and the GREENIC lists 10 to 13 feet. Pick range to match the length of the space.

Mounting height

PIR sensors work best at a set height. Too high and they miss people. The GREENIC recommends 6.8 to 8 feet. Check ceiling height before you buy.

Daylight behaviour

A bulb that triggers in daylight wastes power and annoys you. Look for a photocell. The Aovpex deactivates above 40 lux, and the Torkase, OHLUX and Sylvania list dusk-to-dawn operation. Prefer a stated cut-off.

Color temperature and CRI

5000K daylight looks crisp, while warmer tones look cosier. A high CRI keeps colours accurate. The Sylvania lists 90 CRI at 5000K, and the GE bulbs list daylight. Choose by where you will use the light.

Fixture suitability

Outdoor fixtures need damp or wet-rated bulbs. The GE A21 is damp rated. Make sure the fixture shields the bulb from direct rain.

6 Best Motion Sensor Light Bulbs in 2026

Best Overall

Torkase Motion Sensor Light Bulb, E26 Dusk to Dawn

Torkase Motion Sensor Light Bulb, E26 Dusk to Dawn
1100 lumens100W equivalent8 to 16 ft rangeDusk to dawn20,000 hour life

About this pick

The Torkase delivers 1100 lumens, which the maker equates to a 100W traditional bulb. It combines a PIR motion sensor with a dusk-to-dawn sensor, so it turns on only when it is dark and something moves.

The sensor covers 8 to 16 feet, which suits a porch, entry or small garage but not a long driveway. A 20,000 hour lifespan means it should last many years in a lightly used spot. The trade-off is that its detection range is short and depends on how high the fixture sits.

Compared with the GREENIC at 800 lumens, it is noticeably brighter. Next to the OHLUX, it lists a wider range figure but does not state a shut-off time. Choose it as the strong all-round bulb for a porch or garage.

Best for: Porches, entries and garages that need a bright 100W-equivalent bulb that wakes only in the dark.

Check price on Amazon

Specs

  • Brightness: 1100 lumens
  • Range: 8-16 ft
  • Lifespan: 20,000 hours

Pros

  • +1100 lumens matches a 100W bulb for a bright porch
  • +Dusk-to-dawn sensor ignores motion in daylight
  • +20,000 hour lifespan suits rarely used fixtures
  • +Screws into any E26 base with no wiring

Cons

  • โˆ’Range tops out at 16 feet
  • โˆ’No shut-off delay stated in the listing
Best Auto Shut-Off

OHLUX 13W Motion Sensor LED Light Bulb

OHLUX 13W Motion Sensor LED Light Bulb
13W LED100W equivalentPIR plus dusk to dawn45 second shut-offDaylight white

About this pick

The OHLUX uses a dual sensor design, a PIR motion sensor plus a dusk-to-dawn photocell. It lights up when it senses movement at night and switches off 45 seconds after the movement stops.

A 13W draw replaces a 100W incandescent bulb with a stable daylight tone. The stated shut-off delay is useful, because you know roughly how long the light will stay on once you pass. The listing does not give a lumen figure in the portion we reviewed, so the 100W equivalence is the brightness guide.

Compared with the Torkase, it is clearer about shut-off timing. Next to the Sylvania, it is a higher-output bulb with fewer colour details. Choose it if a predictable off timer matters.

Best for: Spots where you want the light to stay on for a known delay after you pass.

Check price on Amazon

Specs

  • Wattage: 13W
  • Equivalent: 100W
  • Shut-off: 45 seconds after motion stops

Pros

  • +Light switches off 45 seconds after movement stops
  • +Dual PIR and photocell sensing saves energy
  • +13W draw replaces a 100W incandescent
  • +Daylight tone looks crisp in a garage

Cons

  • โˆ’Lumen figure not stated in the reviewed listing
  • โˆ’Daylight tone feels cool in living areas
Best Plug-and-Play

Aovpex Motion Sensor Light Bulb, 100W Equivalent

Aovpex Motion Sensor Light Bulb, 100W Equivalent
100W equivalentDaylight whitePlug and playDusk to dawn40 lux daylight cut-off

About this pick

The Aovpex detects heat waves from moving objects and turns on automatically. Its dusk-to-dawn feature deactivates motion detection in daylight above 40 lux and reactivates it when the light drops.

That 40 lux figure is a handy number, since it tells you the bulb will stay off in a bright room. The bulb is described as plug and play, with a 100W traditional-bulb equivalent. It works indoors or out, though the listing does not give a range figure, so check before using it in a long space.

Compared with the GREENIC, it is brighter on paper at a 100W equivalent. Next to the Torkase, it states the daylight cut-off more precisely. Choose it for a garage, basement or entry that sees mixed light.

Best for: Spaces with mixed light, such as garages and basements, where the bulb should ignore daylight.

Check price on Amazon

Specs

  • Equivalent: 100W
  • Daylight cut-off: Above 40 lux
  • Setup: Plug and play

Pros

  • +Motion sensing switches off above 40 lux of daylight
  • +100W equivalent brightness suits garages
  • +Works in indoor and outdoor fixtures
  • +Simple plug-and-play installation

Cons

  • โˆ’Listing gives no detection range figure
  • โˆ’Cool daylight tone may feel stark in a bedroom
Best Damp-Rated Pack

GE LED+ Motion Sensor Bulbs, 12W A21, 2 Pack

GE LED+ Motion Sensor Bulbs, 12W A21, 2 Pack
12W A21Daylight90 degree view24 ft detectionDamp rated

About this pick

The GE A21 is a 12W daylight bulb with a 90 degree viewing angle and a stated detection distance of 24 feet. It screws into any E26 medium base and is described as damp-rated.

A 24 foot reach is the longest stated range among the bulbs here, which helps across a garage door or a longer porch. It lights automatically, so you skip the wall switch in the dark. Two bulbs come in the pack, which suits a pair of fixtures, though the A21 shape is slightly larger than a standard A19.

Compared with the Torkase at 16 feet, it reaches further. Next to the Sylvania, it offers a bigger sensing distance but fewer colour-quality claims. Choose it for covered outdoor fixtures that need more reach.

Best for: Covered porches and entries that need the longest stated detection distance in this group.

Check price on Amazon

Specs

  • Wattage: 12W
  • Detection: 24 ft, 90 degrees
  • Rating: Damp rated

Pros

  • +24 foot detection is the longest range in this group
  • +Damp-rated body suits covered outdoor fixtures
  • +Two bulbs per pack cover paired fixtures
  • +Automatic on means no hunting for a switch

Cons

  • โˆ’A21 shape is a bit larger than a standard bulb
  • โˆ’90 degree view leaves side areas uncovered
Best Colour Quality

Sylvania A19 Dusk to Dawn Motion Sensor LED Bulb

Sylvania A19 Dusk to Dawn Motion Sensor LED Bulb
8.5W equals 60W800 lumens5000K daylight90 CRIFrosted finish

About this pick

The Sylvania is an 8.5W A19 bulb that replaces a 60W incandescent and produces 800 lumens of 5000K daylight. Its 90 CRI rating means colours look more accurate than on a typical budget bulb.

It turns on when motion is detected and is intended for homes, garages, porches and entryways. A frosted finish spreads the light and reduces glare. The listing does not give a detection range in the portion we reviewed, so verify that before relying on it in a deep space.

Compared with the OHLUX, it uses lower wattage and a lower output. Next to the GREENIC, it adds a stated CRI. Choose it if colour accuracy matters, such as for a garage workbench or a mudroom mirror.

Best for: Garages, mudrooms and entries where colours should look accurate.

Check price on Amazon

Specs

  • Output: 800 lumens
  • Color temp: 5000K
  • CRI: 90

Pros

  • +90 CRI renders colours more accurately than most bulbs
  • +800 lumens replaces a 60W bulb at 8.5W
  • +Frosted finish softens glare in entries
  • +Intended for homes, garages and porches

Cons

  • โˆ’Detection range is not stated in the listing
  • โˆ’Lower output than the 100W-equivalent bulbs
Best Detailed Specs

GREENIC 9W A19 Motion Sensor Light Bulb

GREENIC 9W A19 Motion Sensor Light Bulb
9W A1960W equivalent800 lumens5000K10 to 13 ft range

About this pick

The GREENIC is a 9W A19 bulb producing 800 lumens at 5000K, equal to a 60W bulb. It lists a detection range of 10 to 13 feet and a recommended detection height of 6.8 to 8 feet.

Those numbers are unusually specific and help you plan placement. A photocell keeps the bulb off in bright conditions, and the PIR sensor reacts when it is dark. The short range makes it best for a hallway, stairwell or small porch rather than a driveway.

Compared with the Torkase, it is dimmer and shorter in range but clearer about installation height. Next to the Aovpex, it gives numbers for coverage rather than a lux cut-off. Choose it when you want to plan the mounting height precisely.

Best for: Small spaces where you want to check mounting height and range numbers before buying.

Check price on Amazon

Specs

  • Output: 800 lumens
  • Range: 10-13 ft
  • Mount height: 6.8-8 ft

Pros

  • +States an exact mounting height of 6.8 to 8 feet
  • +800 lumens suits halls and stairwells
  • +Photocell keeps it off in bright light
  • +Works in indoor and outdoor E26 fixtures

Cons

  • โˆ’10 to 13 foot range is short for big spaces
  • โˆ’Lower brightness than the 100W-equivalent bulbs

How We Evaluated These Motion Sensor Light Bulbs

Each pick was assessed across 5 criteria weighted for real-world use.

Sensor reach

We compared stated ranges. The GE A21 lists 24 feet, the Torkase lists 8 to 16 feet, and the GREENIC lists 10 to 13 feet. We did not measure reach ourselves.

Light output

We looked at lumens and wattage equivalents. The Torkase offers 1100 lumens, and the Sylvania and GREENIC offer 800. Output was scored against typical porch and garage needs.

Daylight control

We checked photocell and lux statements. The Aovpex gives a 40 lux figure, and the OHLUX and Torkase list dusk-to-dawn sensing. Clear statements scored higher.

Light quality

We compared colour temperature and CRI. The Sylvania lists 90 CRI at 5000K. Most others list daylight tones only.

Lineup positioning

The Torkase leads on brightness, the GE A21 on range, the OHLUX on shut-off timing, the Aovpex on daylight cut-off, the Sylvania on colour quality, and the GREENIC on mounting detail.

How to Choose the Right Motion Sensor Light Bulbs

By Space

Where the bulb goes decides the output and range you need.

SpacePickWhy
GarageTorkase Motion Sensor Light Bulb, E26 Dusk to Dawn1100 lumens at 100W equivalent
Covered porchGE LED+ Motion Sensor Bulbs, 12W A21, 2 Pack24 ft detection, damp rated
Hallway or stairwellGREENIC 9W A19 Motion Sensor Light Bulb800 lumens, 10 to 13 ft
MudroomSylvania A19 Dusk to Dawn Motion Sensor LED Bulb90 CRI colour accuracy
BasementAovpex Motion Sensor Light Bulb, 100W EquivalentIgnores motion above 40 lux

Measure the space and the fixture height first.

By Budget

Relative tiers show where features grow.

TierPickWhat you get
EntryGREENIC 9W A19 Motion Sensor Light Bulb60W equivalent with clear specs
EntryAovpex Motion Sensor Light Bulb, 100W Equivalent100W equivalent, daylight cut-off
MidTorkase Motion Sensor Light Bulb, E26 Dusk to Dawn1100 lumens and long life
MidOHLUX 13W Motion Sensor LED Light BulbTimed 45 second shut-off
PremiumGE LED+ Motion Sensor Bulbs, 12W A21, 2 PackTwo bulbs, longest range

The Sylvania sits in the mid tier for its CRI.

60W vs 100W Equivalent

Brightness class changes where each bulb belongs.

60W equivalent

These give about 800 lumens, enough for a hall or small porch. The GREENIC and Sylvania fall here. Choose them for gentle, efficient light.

100W equivalent

These give about 1100 lumens for garages and large entries. The Torkase, OHLUX and Aovpex fall here. Choose them when you need a strong wash.

Sensing Details

Range, height and timing change the experience.

DetailPickReason
Longest reachGE LED+ Motion Sensor Bulbs, 12W A21, 2 Pack24 ft detection
Mounting guideGREENIC 9W A19 Motion Sensor Light Bulb6.8 to 8 ft height
Known timeoutOHLUX 13W Motion Sensor LED Light BulbOff 45 seconds after motion
Daylight cut-offAovpex Motion Sensor Light Bulb, 100W EquivalentAbove 40 lux

For Porch Lighting Specifically

A porch bulb must be bright, weather-safe and easy to fit.

Look for

Look for a damp rating, dusk-to-dawn sensing and a range that reaches the steps. Avoid bulbs without a daylight sensor.

In this comparison

The GE A21 offers a damp rating and 24 feet, and the Torkase offers 1100 lumens. The OHLUX adds a timed shut-off.

When to Spend More

Spend where the feature matters.

Spend more ifSave if
You need long reach, choose the GE LED+ Motion Sensor Bulbs, 12W A21, 2 PackYour space is short, choose the GREENIC 9W A19 Motion Sensor Light Bulb
You want colour accuracy, choose the Sylvania A19 Dusk to Dawn Motion Sensor LED BulbColour is not a concern, choose the Aovpex Motion Sensor Light Bulb, 100W Equivalent
You want strong output, choose the Torkase Motion Sensor Light Bulb, E26 Dusk to DawnA dim hall is fine, choose the GREENIC 9W A19 Motion Sensor Light Bulb

Choose range and output before extras.

Frequently Asked Questions

Can a motion bulb go in any fixture?

It needs an E26 medium base and enough space for the bulb body. The GE A21 is slightly larger than a standard A19. Check that the fixture is covered if it is outdoors.

Why doesn't my bulb turn on?

It may be daylight, as most are dusk-to-dawn types. The Aovpex ignores motion above 40 lux. Test it in a dark room or cover the sensor.

Does a wall switch affect it?

Yes. The switch must stay on for the sensor to work. A dimmer switch may also cause problems, so use a standard switch.

How high should I mount it?

The GREENIC recommends 6.8 to 8 feet. Higher fixtures may miss people. A lower fixture may be easy to reach and interfere with.

Are they good for security?

They add a deterrent, but short range limits coverage. For wide areas, use a flood light instead. A bulb suits a porch or garage door.

How long will the bulb last?

The Torkase lists 20,000 hours. Frequent switching can shorten life. Replace bulbs that flicker or fail to detect.

Bottom Line

best overall: Torkase Motion Sensor Light Bulb, E26 Dusk to Dawn - best overall pick in this roundup.

See the full rankings above for all picks with pros, cons, and best-for summaries.

Browse on Amazon

All Prime-eligible options with current pricing.

Shop on Amazon โ†’

Related Guides