Amazon affiliate links - we earn a commission.Affiliate disclosure
Buying Guideยท14 min read

6 Best Cordless Loppers in 2026

Six battery loppers and electric pruners compared on cutting capacity from 1 to 2.1 inches, battery platform, included batteries and reach with pole options.

Jamie Cole, Lead Product Researcher
6 options evaluated
Quick note: We may earn a commission when you buy through Amazon links. This guide is based on product specs, buyer feedback, use cases, and comparison criteria, not paid placement. Affiliate disclosure.
Best Cordless Loppers

At a Glance

MODOFO Electric Pruning Shears, 2.1 in Cutting Diameter
Largest Capacity

MODOFO Electric Pruning Shears, 2.1 in Cutting Diameter

โ†“ See why we picked it
Check price
BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX Alligator Lopper, LLP120
Best True Lopper Format

BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX Alligator Lopper, LLP120

โ†“ See why we picked it
Check price
RYOBI OLP1832BX 18V ONE+ Cordless Bypass Lopper
Best Bypass Lopper Body

RYOBI OLP1832BX 18V ONE+ Cordless Bypass Lopper

โ†“ See why we picked it
Check price
LEZZYRUCK Cordless Pruning Shears With Extension Pole
Best With Extension Pole

LEZZYRUCK Cordless Pruning Shears With Extension Pole

โ†“ See why we picked it
Check price

Cordless loppers replace the squeeze with a trigger, which is the biggest change you can make if gripping hurts or if you have a lot of branches to cut. The category is not uniform, though. Some are true lopper-style tools with long handles, some are one-handed electric pruning shears, and some are tool-only bodies that need a battery you may or may not already own.

This lineup covers six very different designs, from a 1 inch WORX pruner to a 2.1 inch MODOFO with dual cutting modes, a 1.3 inch Ryobi bypass lopper body, a BLACK+DECKER alligator-style lopper, a CRAFTSMAN V20 pruner and a LEZZYRUCK model that works with an extension pole. We evaluated each on stated specs and features, not on any hands-on trial.

Battery platform matters as much as the tool. A tool-only listing is a bargain if you already own the right batteries and a poor deal if you do not, so check that line first.

6 Criteria to Look For Before Buying a Cordless Lopper

Key buying criteria so you get the right fit the first time.

Battery platform and what is included

The battery is often the most expensive part of a cordless tool, so check what comes in the box before comparing prices. The Ryobi OLP1832BX is body only and only makes sense if you own ONE+ batteries. The CRAFTSMAN V20 includes a 2Ah battery and charger, the MODOFO 2.1 inch includes two 2.0Ah batteries, and the LEZZYRUCK works with Dewalt 20V batteries you must supply. Buying into a platform you already own is the cheapest route, and buying a kit is the cheapest route if you own none.

Cutting capacity versus real branches

Capacities here run from 1 inch on the WORX WG330 to 2.1 inches on the MODOFO, with the CRAFTSMAN at 1-1/4 inches, the Ryobi at 32 mm or about 1.3 inches, and the BLACK+DECKER rated for cuts of 1-1/2 inch branches. Plan to stay below the stated number, because the largest figure is a ceiling and thick wood drains the battery faster. Most yard branches are under 1.5 inches, so a mid-range capacity covers most work. Pay for 2 inches only if you will actually meet limbs that size.

Format: shears, lopper or pole

One-handed shears like the MODOFO, WORX and CRAFTSMAN are light and quick but give you no reach. A long lopper like the BLACK+DECKER LLP120 or the Ryobi gives reach and keeps your hands away from the jaws. A pole tool like the LEZZYRUCK, with reach up to 4.57 meters, removes the ladder entirely. Choose by the height of the branches you cut most often.

Blade and jaw design

A bypass blade slices live wood and leaves a cleaner wound, and the Ryobi OLP1832BX is described as bypass. The BLACK+DECKER uses clamping jaws that grab the limb and cut in one motion, which holds branches steady. Shears like the WORX use a coated blade, with titanium plating on the WG330 to reduce friction. For green growth, favor bypass, and for dry wood either design works.

Runtime claims and what they mean

Listings quote cut counts, such as up to 150 cuts of 1-1/2 inch branches for the BLACK+DECKER and up to 900 cuts per charge for the CRAFTSMAN. These depend on branch size and wood hardness, so the two numbers cannot be compared directly. Thicker branches use far more charge than twigs. If you cut a lot in one session, a second battery, like the pair included with the MODOFO, is more useful than a bigger number on a label.

Safety design and controls

Powered cutters are less forgiving than manual ones. The BLACK+DECKER requires both dual-hand switches to be pressed, which keeps hands clear of the jaws and prevents accidental starts. Other listings mention displays and locks, so read the product page for the exact safeguards. Remove the battery before clearing a jam or changing a blade, and wear eye protection when cutting overhead.

6 Best Cordless Loppers in 2026

Largest Capacity

MODOFO Electric Pruning Shears, 2.1 in Cutting Diameter

MODOFO Electric Pruning Shears, 2.1 in Cutting Diameter
2.1 in and 1.6 in modesBrushless motorLCD displayDual 2.0Ah batteries

About this pick

This MODOFO pruner offers two cutting capacities, 2.1 inches and 1.6 inches, selectable by mode. It has a brushless motor, an LCD display and two 2.0Ah batteries included in the listing. It is the highest stated capacity in this guide.

Two modes let you use the smaller opening for precise cuts and the larger one for thick branches, which saves battery on small work. The listing is aimed at buyers who want power without a premium brand. The tradeoff is that it is a one-handed electric pruner rather than a long-handled lopper, so you cannot gain leverage from handle length and you cannot reach overhead without a pole.

Because the brand is a generic listing name, check recent buyer feedback on reliability before buying. Compared with the 1 inch WORX, it handles double the diameter. Compared with the LEZZYRUCK at 30 mm, it is larger in capacity but has no pole option in the bullets. Two batteries mean you can swap one in while the other charges. Pay attention to the LCD display, which the listing says shows real-time information, and to the mode selection so you do not run the large opening on small stems.

Best for: Cutting thick branches up to 2.1 inches with a one-handed electric pruner.

Check price on Amazon

Specs

  • Cutting modes: 2.1 in and 1.6 in
  • Motor: Brushless
  • Batteries: Dual 2.0Ah
  • Display: LCD

Pros

  • +2.1 in capacity is the largest here
  • +Two cutting modes save battery
  • +Brushless motor
  • +Two 2.0Ah batteries included

Cons

  • โˆ’Generic brand, check reliability feedback
  • โˆ’One-handed, no long-handle leverage
  • โˆ’No runtime figure in the bullets
Best True Lopper Format

BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX Alligator Lopper, LLP120

BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX Alligator Lopper, LLP120
20V MAX batteryUp to 150 cuts of 1-1/2 inClamping jawsDual-hand switch safety

About this pick

The BLACK+DECKER LLP120 is a long-handled alligator-style lopper that uses clamping jaws to grab and cut limbs in one motion. The listing says the 20V MAX lithium battery provides up to 150 cuts of 1-1/2 inch branches per charge. A dual-hand switch must be actuated for cutting, which prevents accidental starting.

The long frame is what sets it apart from the pruning shears in this guide, because it gives reach and keeps the blade away from your hands. The clamping jaws hold the branch while cutting, which keeps limbs from slipping. The tradeoff is size and weight, and it has the top price rank in this lineup.

Because it shares the 20V MAX battery system, batteries swap with other tools in the same line. Compared with the Ryobi lopper at 1.3 inches, it states a 1-1/2 inch cut count figure but the Ryobi gives torque and a bypass blade. Compared with the MODOFO at 2.1 inches, it has lower capacity but the reach and two-hand safety of a real lopper. In use, the dual-hand switches mean both hands are on the tool and away from the jaws when it cuts, which is the safest layout in this guide. Plan to carry it with the battery removed and to store it where children cannot reach it.

Best for: Overhead and standing work where a long, two-hand-safe lopper is preferred.

Check price on Amazon

Specs

  • Battery system: 20V MAX lithium
  • Cuts per charge: Up to 150 at 1-1/2 in
  • Safety: Dual-hand switches

Pros

  • +Alligator clamping jaws hold the branch
  • +Up to 150 cuts of 1-1/2 in per charge
  • +Dual-hand switch prevents accidental start
  • +Shares 20V MAX batteries

Cons

  • โˆ’Top price rank in the lineup
  • โˆ’Larger and heavier than shears
  • โˆ’1-1/2 in capacity, below the MODOFO
Best Bypass Lopper Body

RYOBI OLP1832BX 18V ONE+ Cordless Bypass Lopper

RYOBI OLP1832BX 18V ONE+ Cordless Bypass Lopper
18V ONE+ systemCuts up to 32 mm250Nm torque0.75 m lengthBody only

About this pick

The Ryobi OLP1832BX is an 18V ONE+ bypass lopper that cuts branches up to 32 mm, or 1.3 inches, and is listed as body only. The listing states 250Nm of torque and a length of 0.75 meters. Bypass blades slice rather than crush.

The bypass blade is a real advantage for living wood, because the cut is cleaner than an anvil jaw would give. The listing frames it as removing the need for a manual two-handed lopper. The catch is that it is sold body only, so a battery and charger are separate unless you already own the ONE+ platform.

If you already have ONE+ batteries, this is an economical addition. Compared with the BLACK+DECKER, it has a lower stated capacity but a bypass blade. Compared with the MODOFO, it is a long lopper rather than a one-handed pruner. Compared with the CRAFTSMAN, it has more stated cut diameter but no battery included. In a practical scenario, a homeowner with a ONE+ drill and trimmer could add this lopper body for little money and start cutting live shrub limbs right away. The 0.75 meter length gives leverage and reach without a pole. The torque figure is a listing number, so judge it by capacity rather than by the Nm value alone.

Best for: Owners of Ryobi ONE+ batteries who want clean bypass cuts on live branches up to 1.3 inches.

Check price on Amazon

Specs

  • Battery system: 18V ONE+
  • Cut capacity: 32 mm (1.3 in)
  • Torque: 250Nm
  • Length: 0.75 m
  • Supplied: Body only

Pros

  • +Bypass blade for clean live cuts
  • +250Nm torque stated
  • +Cuts up to 32 mm
  • +Works with ONE+ batteries

Cons

  • โˆ’Body only, battery not included
  • โˆ’1.3 in is below the MODOFO
  • โˆ’Metric listing, check dimensions
Best Included Battery Kit

CRAFTSMAN V20 Cordless Electric Pruner

CRAFTSMAN V20 Cordless Electric Pruner
V20 battery system1-1/4 in cut capacityUp to 900 cuts per charge2Ah battery includedCharger included

About this pick

The CRAFTSMAN V20 pruner cuts wet and dry wood up to 1-1/4 inches and states up to 900 cuts per charge. A 2Ah battery and charger are included. It sits on the V20 battery platform.

The included battery makes this the easiest buy for someone starting from scratch, since nothing else is needed. The cut count is a listing claim and depends on branch size. It is a one-handed pruner, so it does not provide reach.

If you already own V20 tools, batteries share across the line. Compared with the Ryobi, it includes a battery but has a smaller capacity at 1-1/4 inches against 1.3 inches. Compared with the WORX at 1 inch, it cuts a little more. For ownership, plan on charging the battery after a big session and keeping the blade clear of sap, which gums up powered shears as it does manual ones. The listing says it cuts wet and dry wood, which makes it a flexible choice for a mixed yard. If you later add other V20 tools, the same battery will fit, which is a quiet advantage of buying into a platform.

Best for: Beginners who want a complete kit with a battery and charger.

Check price on Amazon

Specs

  • Battery system: V20
  • Cut capacity: 1-1/4 in
  • Cuts per charge: Up to 900
  • Battery: 2Ah with charger included

Pros

  • +Battery and charger included
  • +1-1/4 in capacity
  • +Up to 900 cuts per charge stated
  • +V20 platform compatibility

Cons

  • โˆ’Cut count depends on branch size
  • โˆ’One-handed, no reach
  • โˆ’1-1/4 in is below the larger picks
Best With Extension Pole

LEZZYRUCK Cordless Pruning Shears With Extension Pole

LEZZYRUCK Cordless Pruning Shears With Extension Pole
30 mm cutExtension pole to 4.57 mDewalt 20V compatibleLCD display

About this pick

The LEZZYRUCK combines electric pruning shears with an extendable pole, giving a stated reach of up to 4.57 meters. It cuts up to 30 mm and works with Dewalt 20V batteries. The listing calls it a 2-in-1 tool with a lightweight, ergonomic handle.

The pole is the reason to choose it, because it lets you reach high branches without a ladder. The cutting diameter is moderate, so it is for pruning rather than heavy limbs. The bullets do not say whether a battery is included, so check the product page.

If you own Dewalt 20V batteries, it is a natural fit. Compared with the MODOFO 2.1 inch, it cuts less but reaches farther. Compared with the BLACK+DECKER, it offers more reach with a smaller cut. In use, hold the pole with both hands and keep the head angled away from your face, because falling clippings come straight down on you. A pole tool that reaches 4.57 meters is also top-heavy, so it is best for short bursts rather than long overhead sessions. Check whether the listing includes a battery, since the bullets only say it is compatible.

Best for: High branches that would otherwise need a ladder.

Check price on Amazon

Specs

  • Cut capacity: 30 mm
  • Pole range: Up to 4.57 m
  • Battery: Compatible with Dewalt 20V

Pros

  • +Extension pole up to 4.57 m
  • +30 mm cut capacity
  • +Uses Dewalt 20V batteries
  • +2-in-1 shears and pole

Cons

  • โˆ’Battery inclusion not stated in bullets
  • โˆ’Capacity moderate at 30 mm
  • โˆ’Pole adds weight at the tip
Best Compact Brand Pruner

WORX WG330 20V Cordless Pruning Shear

WORX WG330 20V Cordless Pruning Shear
20V platform1 in capacityBrushless motorTitanium coated blade

About this pick

The WORX WG330 is a 20V powered pruning shear with a titanium-coated blade and a brushless motor. The listing claims a 1 inch capacity and says titanium plating decreases friction and protects against rust. The brushless motor is described as more efficient with longer runtime.

It is the smallest capacity in this guide, so it is for light pruning of stems and small branches. The advantage of a major brand is wider support and parts. The bullets do not state battery inclusion.

Compared with the CRAFTSMAN at 1-1/4 inches, it cuts less. Compared with the MODOFO, it cuts half the diameter but comes from a more established brand. For ownership, the brushless motor means less to wear out, and the titanium plating on the blade should make cleaning sap easier. Store it with the blade closed and the battery removed, which is a good habit with any powered cutter. If your list of branches is mostly stems under an inch, this is the tool to look at.

Best for: Light pruning from a well-known brand.

Check price on Amazon

Specs

  • Platform: 20V
  • Cut capacity: 1 in
  • Motor: Brushless
  • Blade: Titanium coated

Pros

  • +Brushless motor
  • +Titanium plated blade
  • +Established brand
  • +Compact and light

Cons

  • โˆ’1 in is the lowest capacity here
  • โˆ’Battery inclusion not stated
  • โˆ’Not for thick limbs

How We Evaluated These Cordless Loppers

Each pick was assessed across 5 criteria weighted for real-world use.

Cutting capacity

We compared the stated capacities, from 1 inch on the WORX WG330 up to 2.1 inches on the MODOFO. The CRAFTSMAN lists 1-1/4 inches, the Ryobi 32 mm and the BLACK+DECKER cuts of 1-1/2 inch branches. Picks scored higher when their capacity was clearly stated and when it matched their format.

Battery value and platform

We judged what comes in the box and how well each tool fits a battery platform. The CRAFTSMAN and MODOFO include batteries while the Ryobi is body only. The LEZZYRUCK and BLACK+DECKER depend on a platform you may already own. Clear statements about inclusion earned credit.

Format and reach

We compared one-handed shears, long-handled loppers and the pole format. The LEZZYRUCK reaches up to 4.57 meters, the Ryobi is 0.75 meters long and the shears offer no reach. Picks that fit their stated use earned higher marks.

Safety and controls

We noted dual-hand switches on the BLACK+DECKER, the LCD displays on the MODOFO models and safety guidance in the listings. A tool that keeps hands away from the cutting edge scored better. Where listings did not describe safeguards, we asked readers to check the product page.

Lineup positioning

We placed the MODOFO as the low price rank with the largest capacity, the WORX and CRAFTSMAN in the middle, the LEZZYRUCK in the upper middle, and the Ryobi and BLACK+DECKER at the top price ranks. Each pick was judged against what its stated features justify.

How to Choose the Right Cordless Loppers

By Branch Thickness

Match capacity to the thickest branch you actually cut, then leave a margin below the stated figure.

BranchPickReason
Up to 1 inWORX WG3301 in capacity
Up to 1-1/4 inCRAFTSMAN V201-1/4 in
Up to 1.3 inRYOBI OLP1832BX32 mm bypass
Up to 1-1/2 inBLACK+DECKER LLP120Cuts of 1-1/2 in
Up to 2.1 inMODOFO 2.1 inLargest capacity

If a branch is thicker than the pick's capacity, cut it in stages from both sides instead of forcing it, which protects the blade and the battery.

By Budget

Relative tiers.

TierPickWhat you get
EntryMODOFO 2.1 inLargest capacity with two batteries at the lowest price rank
Entry to midWORX WG330Established brand, brushless motor, 1 in capacity
MidCRAFTSMAN V20Battery and charger included, 1-1/4 in
Mid to premiumLEZZYRUCK Pole ShearsPole reach to 4.57 m, 30 mm cut
PremiumRYOBI OLP1832BXBody only bypass lopper, buy if you own ONE+
PremiumBLACK+DECKER LLP120Alligator-style lopper with dual-hand safety

Shears vs Lopper

Format changes reach.

One-handed shears

Shears are light and quick and fit in a bag, but they give you no reach and no leverage from handle length. Picks on this side are the MODOFO 2.1 in, WORX WG330 and CRAFTSMAN V20. Choose them if you prune low shrubs and small branches.

Lopper or pole

Long frames give reach and keep hands away from the cut. Picks are the BLACK+DECKER LLP120 and RYOBI OLP1832BX for standing work, and the LEZZYRUCK for high branches. Choose them if you cut overhead or want distance from the blade.

By Battery Ownership

Your batteries decide the buy.

You ownPickReason
NothingCRAFTSMAN V20Battery and charger included
Nothing, want capacityMODOFO 2.1 inTwo batteries included
Ryobi ONE+RYOBI OLP1832BXBody only works with ONE+
Dewalt 20VLEZZYRUCKCompatible
20V MAXBLACK+DECKER LLP120Shares platform

For Weak Grip Specifically

Trigger tools remove the squeeze.

Look for

A trigger tool replaces the squeeze, so look for low weight, a trigger that is easy to press and a battery you can swap without fumbling. Avoid heavy pole tools for long sessions.

In this comparison

All six replace squeeze with a trigger. The WORX WG330 and CRAFTSMAN V20 are the lightest formats, and the BLACK+DECKER requires two hand switches, which some users with limited dexterity will find harder.

When to Spend More

Spend more with reason.

Spend more ifSave if
You want reach, so choose the BLACK+DECKER or LEZZYRUCKYou prune low, so choose the MODOFO or WORX
You want bypass cuts on live wood, so choose the Ryobi OLP1832BXYou cut dry wood where clamping jaws work
You want a platform you will reuse, so choose a CRAFTSMAN V20 kitYou own a battery platform and a body-only tool works
You want the largest capacity, so choose the MODOFO 2.1 inYour branches stay under 1 in and the WORX WG330 is enough

Frequently Asked Questions

Which cordless lopper cuts the thickest branches?

The MODOFO 2.1 inch model states the largest capacity at 2.1 inches, with a 1.6 inch mode for smaller work. The BLACK+DECKER is rated by cuts of 1-1/2 inch branches and the Ryobi by 32 mm. Treat every figure as a ceiling and leave margin.

Do I need to buy a battery separately?

It depends on the listing. The CRAFTSMAN V20 includes a 2Ah battery and charger, and the MODOFO lists two 2.0Ah batteries. The Ryobi OLP1832BX is body only, and the LEZZYRUCK is compatible with Dewalt 20V batteries. Read each listing before you buy.

Are cordless loppers safe to use?

They are safer when used as designed, but they are powered cutters. The BLACK+DECKER requires dual-hand switches so both hands stay clear. Remove the battery before clearing jams and wear eye protection. Keep the tool out of reach of children.

How long does a charge last?

Listings state cut counts, up to 150 cuts of 1-1/2 inch branches for the BLACK+DECKER and up to 900 cuts per charge for the CRAFTSMAN. These depend on branch size and wood hardness. Thick branches drain a battery much faster than twigs. A second battery helps on long sessions.

Can I reach high branches without a ladder?

The LEZZYRUCK has an extension pole that reaches up to 4.57 meters, and the BLACK+DECKER and Ryobi are long loppers. Shears like the WORX and MODOFO do not reach. Use a pole model only in short sessions because it is top-heavy.

Is bypass better than clamping jaws?

Bypass slices live wood and leaves a cleaner cut, and the Ryobi is described as bypass. Clamping jaws, as on the BLACK+DECKER, hold the branch in place while it cuts. For green pruning favor bypass, and for storm clean-up either works.

Is a generic brand a risk?

It can be, because parts and support are harder to find. The MODOFO listing uses a generic name, so check recent buyer feedback on reliability and warranty. Established brands like WORX, CRAFTSMAN, Ryobi and BLACK+DECKER offer wider support. Weigh that against the extra capacity and included batteries the MODOFO offers.

Bottom Line

best overall: MODOFO Electric Pruning Shears, 2.1 in Cutting Diameter - largest capacity pick in this roundup.

See the full rankings above for all picks with pros, cons, and best-for summaries.

Browse on Amazon

All Prime-eligible options with current pricing.

Shop on Amazon โ†’

Related Guides